Office of Readi…

Office of Readings
Second Reading
From the treatise on the Trinity by Saint Hilary of Poitiers

The Father’s gift in Christ

http://www.universalis.com/-400/readings.htm

 “Our Lord has described the purpose of the Spirit’s presence in us. Let us listen to his words: I have yet many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now. It is to your advantage that I go away; if I go, I will send you the Advocate. And also: I will ask the Father and he will give you another Counsellor to be with you for ever, the Spirit of truth. He will guide you into all the truth; for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come. He will glorify me, for he will take what is mine.”

 

About othercentered

Computer programmer, former monk, deeply touched by Theology of the Body of John Paul II, and the love of others of Pope Francis. Need to study every day to keep myself other centered. (Joyce Meyer)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Office of Readi…

  1. What does this teach us, that a sad circumstance, Chris’t leaving us to return to heavan at the ascension may in fact be to our advantage. Christ wanted us to learn many things new, but we needed the grace of the Holy Spirit to learn them. So Christ’s departure becomes the “promptings in my dull heart, needed to choose the life Christ wanted to share with me.

    An example of this came tongiht when Patricia Heaton was being interviewed on Public Television. (WVIZ/PBS ideastream / Northeast Ohio Public Radio …www.wviz.org/WVIZ … With: Patricia Heaton Airs Friday at 10:00 PM Scott Simon interviews Patricia …)

    Patricia shared how some people hide their Christianity in Hollywood. She said that although she does not wear her faith on her sleeve, she could never hide it because everything she now has “comes from God”.

    She said it so simply, but without his grace we have and are nothing. A priest in my parish at St. Mary’s in Akron, said “the only thing we can take credit for, is our weaknesses, all else comes from God.”

    I believe this is true, though I cannot fully explain it. In my daily walk with Jesus the Holy Spirit helps me solve computer problems, leads me as to who to talk with, gives me a peace inside and often I feel his grace when I am talking with someone.

    He is speaking through me, especially when I have taught classes on the faith. I am amazed with the words that come out of my mouth–they are not from me! Lately I have been struggling a lot with anxiousness and aware of my personal weakness–I have had more chances to share my faith, than when I seem to have it all together. It is the Spirit working!
    —-
    Lord Jesus, thank you for all the times you have blessed us with grace. You filled the room where Jordan was born so thick I could feel it, and healed the cord around her neck. When Elaine’s Mom had a stroke and heart attack in the same week you filled the room again as Cindy (Elaine’s sister) and I prayed the rosary. Joyce Meyer said we need to find peace in our life, not feelings, but knowing we are right with God. I am finding that now too in a daily way, when I get out of the way, see that I am imperfect, but you are loving me perfectly.

    ====
    References:
    –Book: Abandonment to Divine Providence – Amazon.com
    (Dover Books on Western Philosophy) [Jean-Pierre de Caussade] Surrender to daily circumstance, knowing God’s will is behind them.
    –Ignatius of Loyola, 8 steps of Discnernment of Spirits. Jesus gave us a peace the world cannot understand. We can use this to find God’s will for our life.
    –Joyce Meyer, YouTube “Integity” We are called to be honest as Christians. It is not a feeling, but a choice for God.
    –Scripture: John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do …biblehub.com/john/14-27.htm Bible Hub
    “I’m leaving you at peace. I’m giving you my own peace. I’m not giving it to you as the world gives. So don’t let your hearts be troubled, and don’t be afraid”

Leave a comment