POEM: Father’s Day

Why do we celebrate Father’s Day?
Is it just another date, that come our way ?

I remember as a boy it meant a lot,
Sometimes in prayer I see my dad,
And know he loves me here or not,
Even though sometimes he made me sad.

Today we are happy he is at rest,
And now I know that always did his best.
I’m not perfect, (just ask my wife)
But hope to love my daughter all my life.

Sometime I get angry when she is bad ,
but I’ve learned that’s all just part of being a dad.

But she hugged me and loved me on Father’s Day,
and made me feel special in many ways.
God knows my imperfections and still loves me,
and he’s the model of fathers for you and me.

So when you question why we have this day,
remember God the father who shows us the way,
it is he who loves us every day!

20140615-113809-41889852.jpg

<a

About othercentered

Computer programmer, former monk, deeply touched by Theology of the Body of John Paul II, and the love of others of Pope Francis. Need to study every day to keep myself other centered. (Joyce Meyer)
This entry was posted in children, father, God, holidays, parents. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment